I'm a learner HELP! (1 Viewer)

agedswill

Local time
Today, 02:52
Access 2016

I’m new to databases but have managed to grasp the basics. What I am trying to do is make a plant database which can be searched by entering a plant name and have the name, image, features and description displayed on another page (or enter features to find plants that match). The database will be stand-alone with no internet requirement. There will be only 1 user – me, (or anyone I choose to give a copy to) so there is no use need for data entry forms.

I have built a main table with all the unique names, plus the fields which are linked to tables where the features are held. All of the relationships have been made and running a search or report produces correct results – HOORAY!

I’ve now created 3 forms, 1 to enter name search data, 1 for searching by feature and 1 to display the results – they are very pretty but they don’t work.

I created a series of combos (e.g. 1 for each feature and used the wizard to complete each combo, so far so good.

But I do have problems with the controls wizard, sometimes when I select combo, the wizard doesn’t appear, even though it’s switched on. If I do the same thing afterwards, the first wizard page appears, sometimes with 2 questions and other times with 3 – it’s very touchy. Why is this?

Whether there are 2 or 3 questions, I’m not sure which of the tables is required – I’ve tried the Main table and also the feature tables. The result is the same – whatever is selected from the combo does nothing, it just sits there looking at me. I’m puzzled, If, for example, I select the table “plant type” from the combo and choose “bush”, how does it know that I want to pull the results from the main table (ie, all the records with the term “bush”)? Through the relationships? If so, it doesn’t work for me. I’ve tried the help and tutorials but got nowhere, except to lose a lot of hair.