Indirectly(?) referring to an array (1 Viewer)

emmahope206

Local time
Today, 10:52
Hi All,

I have a complex master database that is used to refresh the data in multiple smaller databases for groups of users in different business divisions, each one having different populations and a significant number of other factors too numerous to mention.

Simply put, I have numerous arrays defined, each with lists of table names, different 'actions' are then performed on each of these. By 'actions', I mean, one group of tables might be cut down by joining on 1 specific field, another group of tables might be cut down on 2 other specific fields etc and so on and so on.

My arrays are called strArr01, strArr02, strArr03, strArr04 etc etc. Some of the actions need to be repeated (such as 'drop table') on multiple arrays

Code:
For i = 0 To UBound(strArr01)
strSQL01 = "DROP TABLE [" & strArr01(i) & "]"
db.Execute strSQL01, dbFailOnError
Next i

...repeat for strArr02....repeat for strArr03....repeat for strArr04 etc etc etc.

i was hoping to be able to do something like

For j = 0 to 100 '(lets assume there are 100 arrays)
and then refer to "strArr0" & (j) in some way to be able to loop through these but this does not work.

Is there some method where I can 'indirectly' refer to the name of my array in this method? Please can someone advise?

Thanks

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:52
How do you populate these arrays? How do you maintain it/them? If you had that data in tables, then it seems that data would be preserved between application sessions and could have a series of admin forms for maintenance.
Perhaps if we had more info or sample data more focused responses could be made.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:52
I think the answer to your question is a qualified "MAYBE"

You can perhaps do

Code:
strArrName = "strArr" & trim(cstr(j)) & "(i)"
strSQL01 = "DROP Table [" & strArrname & "]"