Last Name Plus Number Autonumbering (1 Viewer)

abbyh

Local time
Today, 01:53
Hi. I am really new to Access, and I need some help. I am trying to figure out how to add the first four letters of a last name column to the autonumber setting for my ID column. I know a lot of people don't suggest doing this in case the last name changes, or there are multiple people with the same last name, but that is part of why the business I am working for is looking to do this. We are a financial management firm, and some of our clients have multiple different accounts with us, using the same name. We need to differentiate between the different accounts, while still referencing who's account it is. I know it is done in the format portion of the autonumber information, but then people mention myID, and concantenation and I get a bit lost. Can someone walk me through how to add the first four of the last name to the autonumber account ID column? For example, WALL-128 or HALL-40. Thank you.

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 05:53
Leave the autonumber well alone.
If you want that format at any time you can just concatenate.

Code:
strMyCode = Left(Me.Lastname,4) & "-" & Me.TableID

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:53
Hi. Take my bank account for example. I might have both a savings and a checking account with different account numbers. None of them include any letters from my last name. So, if you use an Autonumber field as the primary key for the client accounts, then no two of them should have the same account number. That should be enough to tell you one account from another. I hope...

abbyh

Local time
I get what you are saying, however, this is a set up my boss prefers, because we use one similar to it on other documents, and it would be nice if I could have it autopopulate with the correct information and number when putting in a new customer.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time