Limit the status after one time (1 Viewer)

Talatraja

Local time
Today, 12:58
hi i am new in access and vba sorry if i ask some thing wrong or if i not explained my question due to my language issue, i making database for project documents our propose is that we received a as built drawings for final projects ,we received sample submittal submittal only at starting project then its approved or reject after that contractor submit the complete package submittal, now the problem is that some contractor submit the sample submittal after the package we want to restrict contractor to submit the sample after package submittal ,as we need only sample first, i have one table is projects detail with primaty key project number and other one is for submittal datils with submittal number as primary key and project number as fo key, submittal typ ,submittal date, replly date and status, user enter data through form with same field including combo box of submittal type with sample and package,
just need to prevent entering the sample submittal after package submittal, thanks

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 09:58
moved from site suggestions to a more appropriate forum

Always better to show some example data with actual field names and data types as descriptions can be difficult to interpret and harder still to provide meaningful response

With regards the question

once the user has entered the project number
  • your type combo could exclude the sample submittal type from the rowsource if a complete package has already been submitted
  • or the type combo could be disabled if a complete package has been submitted
to determine if a complete package has been submitted you could use the dcount function (this assumes all values are numeric)

dcount("*","tblProjects","ProjectNumber=" & me.txtProjectNumber & " AND TypeFK= 1)

where 1 is the typePK for for 'complete package'

if dcount returns 0 then the complete package has not yet been submitted

arnelgp