Listbox value not save (1 Viewer)

darrenislearning

Local time
Today, 20:29
Hello, I am very new to Access. I created a simple form to explore and learn.

I have this table, tblstudent and it contains these fields (ID, StudentID, FName, Interest). Interest, is a multi-select listbox.

I created a button to save the record but it is not saving my multi-select items. Or I need to use VBA to save? Any expert can guide me. Thanks

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 04:29
Assume you want to use a multi-value field. This must be defined in the table design.

What code is in the button?

Last edited:

darrenislearning

Local time
Must use VBA to save items selected with multi-select listbox. Do you want a separate record for each selection or are you trying to save to a multi-value field?
All multi select in one field (interest). I dont need to have comma, just new line in that field

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:29
Hi. If the form is bound, there's usually no need to create a save button. Access will automatically save the record for you.

With regards to the multi select listbox for interests, most developers will tell you to avoid using a multi value field (MVF) to do that. Instead, you should consider using a child table and a subform instead.

darrenislearning

Local time
Is there any simple sample on the subform for my reference? I saw the subform but not sure how to use it. And in the future, i want to expand on the form where user have to login to save the record

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
sample with Student and subform of interests.

Attachments

• students.accdb
    704 KB · Views: 373

darrenislearning

Local time