Looking for a new perspective! (1 Viewer)

SimonD

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:39
Hello everyone,
I’m new to Access, mostly self-thought, but I have an upcoming 2-day training to become an advance user. Meanwhile, I’m still trying to make headway in my database and I’m hoping that there might be some experts with great tips or a different perspective to assist me. (I’m using Access 2013)

I’ve read somewhere that the planning phase of a database is very important, so I gathered all the information and then divided the content into various tables, and tried to create the relationships, while encompassing every possible scenario.

Basically, the database will have a member’s information, the charges the member is accused of, and the case’s information. Each case will one or multiple hearing(s) in front of a Judge.
You can see the breakdown of my tables in the pictures Model 1 and Model 2 below.

For me, the best way to find my 1-to-many & many-to-many relationships was to actually write some examples. Please tell me if I’m wrong!

Scenario 1:
1 Case: 1 member with 4 charges
Docket 201351; Name: Walks: 2 charges on breach of trust, 2 charges on sexual assault

Scenario 2:
1 Case: 2 members, 1 charge
Docket 201424; Names: McComb & Gibsan : 1 charge of conduct to the prejudice of good order and discipline

Scenario 3:
1 Case: 2 members, 2 charges
Docket 201518; Name: McKenzie : 1 charge of conduct to the prejudice of good order and discipline;
Name: MacKenzy: 1 charge of Assault.

Scenario 4:
1 Case: 1 member with 1 charge
Docket 201703; Name: Walks (same member as Scenario 1): 1 charge on Absent without leave.