Luddite Looking for a Leg Up (2 Viewers)

Reserved Sanity

Local time
Today, 12:52
Hi all,

I don't belong here, so I come hat in hand to the gurus.

I am the 2IC of a navy cadet unit, and I'm trying to find a stock management tool for our uniform store. I thought an inventory template for Access would work, but everything I've found is far to complex for my needs. I need to record the specific uniform items a cadet is issued, including the item name (e.g. black trousers) and size (e.g. 95R). These items may be exchanged for bigger sizes so (we are dealing with growing teenagers) so I want to be able to track the items currently issued to an individual. I am not really concerned about tracking the stock levels of the store itself and don't really need to record this at all.

I've spent the last 3 days trying to school myself in MS Access 2019 (I have a MS 365 subscription) in the hopes of building a system. I had initially hoped to find a template that would suit my needs, but haven't found one/have insufficient literacy to adapt one... I very much appreciate any help you might be able to offer.

This should be simple, I know, but I'm struggling to achieve this task on my own!

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
As you have discovered, a template or a better description I think is, an "off-the-shelf package" never really meets all of your needs. However I'm sure it must go some way to providing the functionality you require. So you have several choices:-

Continue to try and find an off-the-shelf package that meets all your needs - (very unlikely)
Use the inventory template for Access you have found, identify the features you would like to retain, and use that as the basis for your ideal stock management.