Solved Mass Update Calculated fields (1 Viewer)

Eureka99

Local time
Today, 14:36
I have a table with calculated fields.

I have just imported a load of data into this table.

Is there a way to force the table to calculate all the records calculated fields?

Ranman256

Local time
Today, 10:36
Queries make calculated fields, not tables.
the table holds the fields to do the calc.

Eureka99

Local time
Apologies, let me rephrase, as I'm not a newbie to MS Access.

In my query structure I have this thing called a calculated field. I've attached a pic. There is no query as I havent built one for it.

I'm looking to "calculate" all these special records that say "calculated" en masse and wondered if there was a way to do it.

I'm very thankful for your reply, but it doesnt help at all.

Attachments

• Calc Field.jpg
    Calc Field.jpg
    5.1 KB · Views: 128

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
That is a calculated field in a table.
You can't update it as it is will be based on other fields in that table.

Normally - that field would be [FirstName] & " " & [LastName]

cheekybuddha

AWF VIP
Local time
In my query structure I have this thing called a calculated field. I've attached a pic. There is no query as I havent built one for it.
Do you actually mean: 'In my table structure ...'

This article seems to suggest (I think!) that the fields should re-calculate automatically when the underlying data is changed:
There are texts on the internet, claiming that the stored data might not be recomputed when changing the underlying expression of a calculated column. - I tried to reproduce this issue, but, with Access 2010 + 2013 updated to the current patch level, I was unable to identify any situation where that actually happened.
Is this not the case?