Migrating backend to an Sql Server (1 Viewer)

REZ

Local time
Today, 04:02
Hi,

I need to migrate my backends to a cloud Sql Server to allow users to work from home.
I've been working on Access for quite a few years, but I'm completely lost with Sql servers.
Can anyone give me step by step instructions?
Thank you

REZ

Local time
Thank you.
I tried doing some online research a while ago, but got very confused.
I'll have a look at the link you sent me

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:02
A better solution is to use Citrix or Remote Desktop to allow your users to continue to use the Access application unchanged. Just converting the BE to SQL Server will not solve your problem. Access is NOT optimized to work well over the internet. It works very well on a LAN with SQL Server but the best internet connection provides less than 10% of the speed of the average LAN so a straight conversion will probably be way too slow for your users to be happy with it.

To make Access work with a WAN database, you will almost certainly need to rewrite the application to use bound forms and disconnected recordsets as well as stored procedures. Not something to be undertaken lightly.

Try the straight convert just to give yourself a feel for what you are up against. Then look into Citrix which requires NO changes to the application.

Last edited:

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
but the best internet connection provides less than 10% of the speed of the average LAN