Mouse Drag to change textbox position on fly (1 Viewer)

Babycat

Local time
Today, 18:18
Hi all

I know it is weird but I would like to know if any example or solution that able to change position of a form's control by mouse click and drag in form view mode?
I studied about on mousemove event and try to set new position when event fired, but it seems to be exhausted...

My end-user wants to change a textbox position on fly - when access program is running

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 03:18
Need code that would get cursor positions. That is fairly easy https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...position-1ef41d8b-6348-6ef1-f015-f9119799c65c
I had to change Hold variable to Public in module header so form code could read it.

Use difference of start cursor and end cursor locations to adjust textbox Top and Left properties.

Textbox MouseDown event can capture starting cursor location.
What I can't figure out is where to put code to capture ending cursor location.

Last edited:

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:18
I've seen a demo before for dragging a textbox around. Try searching for a restaurant seating chart demo. I'll let you know if I find it again.

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:18
My end-user wants to change a textbox position on fly - when access program is running
What sort of application is this? Seems a strange requirement-- I don't think I've seen a requirement to move controls during execution, but.........
Here is example from ChrisO (RIP) where he showed drag and drop but it was demonstrating drag and drop and not a specific application requirement.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:18