Mysterious Disappearing Keys (1 Viewer)

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 01:57
On a few occasions, I have seen tables where the primary key, and indeed other indexes had disappeared, leading to at best performance issues, and at worst table updates failing. There's no data loss as far as I can see.

I am not sure if this might be caused by bugs such as the recent 3340 error, or whether a C&R maybe didn't complete the index rebuild correctly.

Any observations gratefully received.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 17:57
Hi Dave. No, sorry, I haven't noticed anything similar to that. Good luck!

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
Yesterday, 19:57
Dave,

I'm sure you don't want to hear my nonsense, but honestly, your type of inquiry is exactly the reason I stopped using access and went with mysql and sql server (i'm just beginning with that). I've never liked access ever since learning it in 1992 because even back then it was showing that it wasn't really stable in terms of *weird* things that seem to happen without reason. I really do stand by the notion that I think MS lacks either expertise in their developers who work on access release, or simply do not care about it because it makes them no money. Hence, they don't address these nuances that only we see on our end, months after they deploy a new release. but what do I know? I've only been in the business a few years, right? I must know nothing....

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
I know what you mean Adam. I just can't understand how a table can lose keys, without someone changing them.

Except, I wondered whether a C&R might terminate somehow, leaving the data intact but the indexes not fully rebuilt, which would produce the effect I am seeing.

Maybe I need to change from mdb format to accdb format. I don't think any users still have A2003. Perhaps that's part of the problem.

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Adam