Need A Query To Update Product Information In A Table (1 Viewer)

Akmarii

Local time
Today, 08:32
I have limited experience with creating functions in access, but I was asked to create a function for this.

I have two tables that are connected in access The tables are lists of products and their corresponding product number as well as other information. Most of the products in the table have a corresponding company-specific product number but there are a few that don't for those I was asked to create an IF function that will pull the national product number from the connected table for each product that doesn't a company product number already listed.

I have only been able to create a function that leaves those without a product number blank, but I need to figure out how to populate those blank fields with those national product numbers.

I'm not sure how to move forward and would really appreciate some tips.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:32
Hi. Welcome to AWF! Doesn't sound like you need a function. You should be able to use an UPDATE query for that. Can you show us some sample data? Thanks.

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:32
I would suggest that you post a sample database, not your actual database, make one up just include the main components. Add some fictitious data to the tables you can use the data from the northwind database... See Here:-

Setup the Northwind dB

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
a few things. this:
I was asked to create an IF function that will pull the national product number from the connected table for each product that doesn't a company product number already listed.