Need some advice for old DB develop (1 Viewer)

smtazulislam

Member
Local time
Today, 08:49
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
806
Hello,
Need some advice...
I have a DB with access office VER 2003-2007. DB properties show It is last used November, 2008. I found it our old harddisc.

I try to operate it, But attached message show (Invaled procedure call argument )and if i click OK then open VBA. And I found there have VBA CODE. I like to develop this DB with in ACCESS 2019 ver 32bit . Can I do it, its can possible. If possible how can remove this messaged.

Many thanks.
Capture.JPG
Capture1.JPG
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:49
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
21,358
Hi. First thing to check is if you have any missing references.
 

Ranman256

Well-known member
Local time
Today, 01:49
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
4,339
you didnt say which line has the error.
but you dont need GOTO RECORD. All these controls were built in at the bottom of the form.
 

smtazulislam

Member
Local time
Today, 08:49
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
806
Hi theDBguy,
Thanks for reply, what you means reference like table or queries. table and queries linked. there I dont find any missing.
 

smtazulislam

Member
Local time
Today, 08:49
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
806
you didnt say which line has the error.
but you dont need GOTO RECORD. All these controls were built in at the bottom of the form.
Sorry!, the error is when I try to add new record or open form Design View.
 

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:49
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
3,476
Open the db; don't open any forms, reports or queries. If you get the error message, dismiss it. If the vb editor doesn't automatically open, open it with Ctrl+G.
When vb editor is open, go to Tools>References and look at the list. See if any references are flagged as missing or broken. Maybe post a pic of the references window.
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:49
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
21,358
Hi theDBguy,
Thanks for reply, what you means reference like table or queries. table and queries linked. there I dont find any missing.
Hi. I meant exactly what Micron said.
 

smtazulislam

Member
Local time
Today, 08:49
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
806
Open the db; don't open any forms, reports or queries. If you get the error message, dismiss it. If the vb editor doesn't automatically open, open it with Ctrl+G.
When vb editor is open, go to Tools>References and look at the list. See if any references are flagged as missing or broken. Maybe post a pic of the references window.

Thanks for reply, Opening db there do not have any error message.
 

Attachments

  • Reference.JPG
    Reference.JPG
    76.9 KB · Views: 92

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:49
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
3,476
Wow, that's pretty a sparse list. You could try compiling the code project (using menu bar in vb editor) but you'd need some idea of which library is missing based on the errors you find. Or you could try adding the most common ones, one at a time and take note of what happens. Add new record error might mean the code uses ADO but an error from opening a form in design view could be anything. I would add a reference to Office 16 and ADO as a start. If no change, probably remove the ADO reference. However you could easily remove a reference that didn't help at this point, only to find that as you fix one issue, another arises and you might need that reference after all.

Without seeing your code and what the db does, it's just a guess from here.
 

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:49
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
3,476
I don't think you can upload content like that. It has to be embedded because those files won't open.
 

smtazulislam

Member
Local time
Today, 08:49
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
806
I don't think you can upload content like that. It has to be embedded because those files won't open.
You can try any video play it was format by .mp4
 

Attachments

  • Video.zip
    3.5 MB · Views: 85

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:49
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
3,476
OK, you try to open or download that from your own post and let us know what happens.
 

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Yesterday, 22:49
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
8,738
To me it does not seem like it is a references problem. It seems like a legit problem with a line of code.
My suggestion would be to put a Breakpoint on the form's:
Open (if it has one)
Load (if it has one)
Resize (if it has one)
Activate (if it has one)
Current (if it has one)

Then view the form in Form view. When the code breaks, press F8 to step through the code line by line until you expose the error to see which line it is.

Another option is to check what I have pictured.

I do not believe this has to do with references.
 

Attachments

  • Testing 20200709_2.jpg
    Testing 20200709_2.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 78

smtazulislam

Member
Local time
Today, 08:49
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
806
I try it,

To me it does not seem like it is a references problem. It seems like a legit problem with a line of code.
My suggestion would be to put a Breakpoint on the form's:
Open (if it has one)
Load (if it has one)
Resize (if it has one)
Activate (if it has one)
Current (if it has one)

Then view the form in Form view. When the code breaks, press F8 to step through the code line by line until you expose the error to see which line it is.

Another option is to check what I have pictured.

I do not believe this has to do with references.
But message me "the save failed"
second time restart DB and try it. and successful save. But problem isn't solved.
 

Attachments

  • option menu.JPG
    option menu.JPG
    51.6 KB · Views: 84

smtazulislam

Member
Local time
Today, 08:49
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
806
Still my setting
 

Attachments

  • Setting on Board 1.JPG
    Setting on Board 1.JPG
    34.8 KB · Views: 82
  • Setting on Board 2.JPG
    Setting on Board 2.JPG
    38.3 KB · Views: 81
  • Setting on Board 32.JPG
    Setting on Board 32.JPG
    30 KB · Views: 86

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Yesterday, 22:49
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
8,738
Ok, then put a breakpoint on the first line of code that appears to be involved in saving the form. BeforeUpdate, most likely? You'll have to experiment with putting breakpoints and then stepping through code.
 

smtazulislam

Member
Local time
Today, 08:49
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
806
Ok, then put a breakpoint on the first line of code that appears to be involved in saving the form. BeforeUpdate, most likely? You'll have to experiment with putting breakpoints and then stepping through code.
Thanks for advice, I try breakpoint
Select all code and debug---Step Into , and try to save it, but failed.
and Reopen it... VB page... After breackpoint if I try to close my DB then back a message "222"
I can't save after breakpoint.
 

Attachments

  • 111.JPG
    111.JPG
    66.8 KB · Views: 90
  • 2222.JPG
    2222.JPG
    21.1 KB · Views: 86

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Yesterday, 22:49
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
8,738
I'm having trouble following the steps you're describing. Can you post a copy of the DB for examination? Can remove most likely all data from the tables before posting, if needed for privacy.
 

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:49
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
3,476
Or post a zipped db copy if it's not full of private information.
Ooops. A moment too late...
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom