Need to be able to update existing records from a form (1 Viewer)

mshome

Local time
Today, 02:11
I have a table "Handheld_serials" that hold relevant inventory information pertaining to equipment. I have a form also tied to this table for entering in that information. I had managed to code in the LostFocus event to display a messsage box if it was a duplicate record so that you didn't get to the end of the form and get the duplicate primary key field message. Trying to save myself time. My main goal though is to have access check that if there is a duplicate, possibly on lostfocus or beforeupdate that instead of just warning me that there was a duplicate, to pull up the record in question and display it on the form so that it could be edited (such as the location where the device is). My field for lookup is Serial_Number (This is also my primary key field). I'm new to working with Access (haven't used it in almost 20 years), Help! I have googled, and bought two books on advanced access and I can only find a method to use an unbound combobox, which still isn't doing the desired effect.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Not exactly clear what you are asking.

How would this duplicate number be entered? If manually, either that control's _Change event or _LostFocus event would be the place to detect a duplicate. Don't wait for the form's Before_Update or some other event. Look to a control event.