New Database or just add more tables to an existing database (1 Viewer)

Umpire

Local time
Today, 14:52
This is a discussion in theory / best practice only.
How do you decide when to create a second, or third etc. database instead of just adding more tables to your existing database?
What so called "tips the scales" one way or the other?

I am still very new to this so kind of looking for a mindset to have before I need to make this decision.

Thanks

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 17:52
1. If the data in the new tables will be related to data in the existing tables, add the new tables to the old BE.

2. If the same users will be using both applications, add the new functionality to the old FE.

Those are just general guidelines. At some point either the FE or BE might become too unwieldy so keep that in mind also. However #1 is very important since you can only enforce relationships WITHIN a single BE database. You can join data from multiple databases but that is not the same thing as enforcing Referential Integrity which is what relationships do.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 16:52
First, I agree with Pat's answers to the questions you wrote. However, reading between the lines of your questions, I heard some troubling things that make me think you haven't normalized your database properly. It sounds as if you are adding tables to accomodate new data that should be easily accomodated in a properly structured database.

Why are you constantly adding new tables? Everytime you get a new supplier you add a table with that Suppliers name to accomodate the products they have? Or every month or year you are adding a new table to accomodate that month's or years data? Am I close? Why do you foresee adding a lot of new tables? What data will they hold?

Umpire

Local time
Today, 14:52