Solved Order Totals on a New Order (1 Viewer)

debsamguru

Local time
Today, 23:06
Hi, Access newbie here,

I have two tables, OrderHeaderT and OrderDetailsT. I have successfully created a New Order Form, bringing in the header details and a continuous details subform. I have summed the totals on the subform and I can display the totals on the header part of the form using =[New Order Details].[Form]![OrderCostTotal] but it won't update the TotalCostPrice field on the OrderHeaderT. I believe it's because once the cursor moves to the subform, the record is written to the OrderHeaderT, so there's nothing to force the field to be updated. Is my understanding correct? I don't have a button 'Save Order', because it is automatically created as the items are added.

What am I missing?

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 14:06
Really should not save this calculated value into header record. It should be calculated when needed.
Calculated values do not automatically save anywhere. Saving would require code (macro or VBA).

debsamguru

Local time
The reason I am saving them in the header record is because when I display a list of the orders, I want to be able to change details e.g. delivery date, paid date, status, on that line in the list and not have to go into the whole order. However, once I use a query with multiple tables to display the list of orders, the fields stop being updateable.

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Sorry, don't really understand that described scenario and doesn't change my comment.

If you really want to save calculated value, need code. Code to save is simple. Real trick is figuring out what event to use and might need to be in more than one location, such as buttons on main form to close form and move to new record row.

Me!TotalCostPrice = Me.tbxTotal

Why not use the same form/subform to edit existing data as for entering new?

Last edited:

debsamguru

Local time
I have the following queries:-