Solved Paragraph to Individual Fields Possible? (1 Viewer)

jessAccess

Local time
Yesterday, 23:12
I'm new to Access as of this weekend. I wanted to create a database of recipes that I could then export as recipe cards, always formatted the same way. I've accomplished that task, but only with typing everything into individual fields.

I'm wondering whether it is possible to paste data into a long text field and then use a macro to copy each paragraph into an individual field.

For example... this recipe ingredient data...
1/4 cup oat four
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup extra dark chocolate, chopped or Lily’s sugarfree (4 oz)*
2 tablespoons butter or coconut oil, melted
2/3 cup Swerve Sweetener Confectioners
3/4 cup Greek yogurt
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup extra dark chocolate chips, optional
Pinch cocoa powder for dusting

...would be entered into individual fields...

ing1 = 1/4 cup oat four
ing2 = 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
etc, etc

Is this something that is possible with a macro? If anyone knows of any articles I could read or has any advise I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 19:12
Each item should be its own record, not multiple field entries of same record.

Most anything can be done with enough code. If you typed each item separated with a character that would not otherwise be used, code can parse the string and save each item to separate record/field.

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Could you build an interface that allows you to drop that and parse into seperate records? Sure except for the last line. I can take the first numerics and put in to a field called amount, and the next word into a field called units.
1/4 Cup
1/2 Cup
Then put everything else into a field called ingredient
oat Flour
Unsweetened coco powder

Easy until i get to line
Pinch cocoa powder for dusting

That would have to be entered as