Parsing the "LongDate" Format into a shorter one (1 Viewer)

accesswatcher

Local time
Today, 13:15
In an Access 97 (Office 97) DB, the design requires date to be in the format "January 15, 2000" but the closest Access 97 format is the "LongDate" which is "Saturday, January 15, 2000".

I am using date() to automatically insert the dates when the input form opens.

Can anyone suggest how I will be able to parse this to truncate first day part and the comma?

Since the number of characters vary in the first day part depending on the day of the week I am confused. Also, will I be correct in understanding that Access "Date" data type is not a simple text string?

Thanks in advance.

J

Jeff

Dear accesswatcher,

I'm a bit of a newbie with Access but I think this is your answer:

MyDate = Format(Date, "mmmm d, yyyy")

I was going to suggest using the InStr and Mid functions to parse the orginal text but the method above is even shorter.

Happy programming,
Jeff

accesswatcher

Local time
Jeff,

I am super newbie.
I now see the date format, but how will i use this though?
I went to the Design view of the table. Set the data type of the field as Date/Time. Then in the default value I set that to "date()"
In the format i set "MyDate = Format(Date, "mmmm d, yyyy")".
Now when I open the Input form, The date comes as a "Longdate" with the day and everything, but when the field gets the "Focus" it parses it to just the month, dy and year. Which means the user should atleast click once inside the data field. Right?

Is this how best one can do this? or can anything be done to not need the "focus" to be on the field? or I am doing some thing worng?

J

Jeff

accesswatcher,

I played around with it a little and this is what I found...