pdf file size too big when using DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport (1 Viewer)

MMK

Local time
Today, 09:36
Hello.

I am relatively new to Access VBA and cannot find an answer to my problem. I am using Access 2007 with the add-in that allows printing directly to a pdf file. When I print my report manually to a pdf file, the resulting pdf file is 60KB. When I use VBA to programatically print the same report using DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, the resulting pdf file is over 300KB - 5 times larger! I will be printing over 15,000 reports and emailing them, so this causes multiple issues.

Below is the code that I am using:

DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, "MyReport", acFormatPDF, strPath & "MyReport" & strLoc & ".pdf"

I have set the Acrobat preferences conversion settings to "smallest file size". I have also gone to the Advanced settings in the preferences dialog box and changed the resolution, but that didn't help. I have also tried adding the Output Quality parameter and tried acExportQualityScreen vs. acExportQualityPrint, but there is virtually no difference in the resulting file size.

I feel like there must be a setting somewhere that I am missing, but I just cannot figure out what's going on. If anyone has any tips, I would greatly appreciate it!

HiTechCoach

Local time
Today, 08:36
When I print my report manually to a pdf file, the resulting pdf file is 60KB.
Do we assume this means that you are printing the report and selecting Acrobat as the printer?

I have set the Acrobat preferences conversion settings to "smallest file size". I have also gone to the Advanced settings in the preferences dialog box and changed the resolution, but that didn't help. I have also tried adding the Output Quality parameter and tried acExportQualityScreen vs. acExportQualityPrint, but there is virtually no difference in the resulting file size.