Please help me understanding this Query (1 Viewer)

SachAccess

Local time
Today, 16:10
Hi,

I am new to access. Kindly pardon me for such question.
Am trying to understand below query. I have multiple queries in my DB.
Your guidance will help me to understand rest of the queries more easily.

From below query, my understating is that a LEFT join is used to take result from My_Table_1 and My_Table_2.
Fields My_ID and Product_ID are present in the both the tables.
Quantity field is present only in one table.

I know there is a start date and end date taken as input but am not able to understand ‘[Test]’ this part of the query.

Actual query is as below
Code:
PARAMETERS [Forms]![Test]![Start_Date] DateTime, [Forms]![Test]![End_Date] DateTime;
TRANSFORM Nz(Sum(My_Table_2.Quantity),0) AS SumOfQuantity
SELECT My_Table_1.My_ID, My_Table_1.Product_ID, My_Table_1.Item_Name
FROM My_Table_1 LEFT JOIN My_Table_2 ON (My_Table_1.My_ID = My_Table_2.My_ID) AND (My_Table_1.Product_ID = My_Table_2.Product_ID)
GROUP BY My_Table_1.My_ID, My_Table_1.Product_ID, My_Table_1.Item_Name
PIVOT My_Table_2.Record_Date;

Details of the parameters used in the query.
Quantity = field name from table 'My_Table_2'
My_ID = field name from table 'My_Table_1'
My_ID = field name from table 'My_Table_2'

Product_ID = field name from table 'My_Table_1'
Product_ID = field name from table 'My_Table_2'

Result of the query.
When I click on this query, I get three fields, My_ID, Product_ID, Item_Name and few columns for dates.
My apologies if am asking for too much with very few / incomplete details.
Thanks.

PS - I have edited original query due to security reasons. Original query provides correct result.

Last edited:

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:40
Hi. What you have there is a Crosstab Query. It's similar to a Pivot Table in Excel. Are you familiar with those?

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:40