Solved Propagating multiple fields along a one-to-many relationship (1 Viewer)

Duff-Man

Local time
Today, 23:23
Hi all. I'm new to Access, so apologies if this is a rather basic question...

I'm building a database to handle contracts / inventory / stock etc. Each contract can contain several products, and I would like to propagate a few default values from the contract into the products.

I have a table "Contracts", with the "Contract ID" being the primary field. The "Products" table has its own primary field (product id), and a field "Associated Contract" to link it to the contract. The "Contract ID" has a one to many relationship with "Associated Contract". I can build a sub-form using this connection, which seems to work as expected.

I would like to additionally pass other values from the "Contracts" table to the associated records in "Products", as default values. For example, "unit of mass". In almost all cases, the unit of mass is consistent throughout the contract (e.g. all products in the contract are measured in kg). However, in some rare cases this can differ, so I would like to retain a field in the products table to allow this to be changed on an individual basis when needed. Similarly for currency, delivery location etc.

I'm unclear on how to go about this? The records themselves are already linked, so there shouldn't be any ambiguity, however I am only able to propagate the primary field?

Many thanks!

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 06:23
I would like to additionally pass other values from the "Contracts" table to the associated records in "Products", as default values.
you need Another table (Junction between contract and product).
you only need to use Query and not "propagate" information already in another table.

Duff-Man

Local time
Thanks for your help. I've been looking into it further, and can't seem to grasp what I need to do...