Putting a db onto a website (1 Viewer)

meanster99

Meum cerebrum nocet!
Local time
Today, 14:12
I created a stand alone db for my brothers business (it holds employee records, customer records and order details). Up till now it has always only had one user (my brother!). However, he now wants to have multiple users (not always to be logged in at the same time) and so is getting his webmaster to put the db on his website so that his staff (working from home) can access certain parts of the db.

Now the db hasnt got any f/e b/e splits - it is just one file containing all objects (I have only just been reading about f/e, b/e the last couple of days! I am a novice!). What do i need to do to this db in order to get it to work effectively online? I reckon I will have to set user/group permissions (but dont really understand them yet!) but will i also be better splitting the db into f/e and b/e?

I am not sure how users can actually access the db from a website and so I need help/advice on what to do to my db to make this possible.

dan-cat

Registered User.
Local time
I'm a little confused - isn't this supposed to be the webmasters job?

If he/she doesn't know how to access the db via the web then I strongly suggest your brother finds somebody who does.

However, first off you need to tell us what format the db is in and whether your brother's employees will be accessing the db at the same time as the online users.

I wouldn't employ a webmaster who can't give you the answers to all of your concerns.

DanG

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:12
Chill dude..
Wow you are so hardcore.
The Webmaster title doesn't always mean you know everything about everything, maybe you are the exception?