Qlik View (1 Viewer)

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:26
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,343
I was wondering if any of the esteemed users on here have had any experience of using Qlik View with Access or other dbs?

I've been informed that my department has a few Qlik View Server licenses, we're just not currently using them.
My manager is toying with the idea of me getting a Qlik View Desktop license and using this software to set up 'dashboards' allowing those with Server licenses to view data from a number of sources. Specifically, multiple Access databases, ODBC connections to various data warehouses, and SalesForce.

From what I've found online, I know Qlik View can do these things, I'm just curious if anyone has any particularly positive or negative experiences of doing so?
 

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 13:26
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
7,516
I can only give you about a 1% view on this - I looked into Qlok View and played with it and it looked quite useful for on-premise or VPN dashboards.
A little bit like Power BI.

I thought it looked pretty useful tbh, but didn't have the time to really explore it.
 

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:26
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,343
Thanks, Minty. That's my impression so far.
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:26
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
12,585
I used qlik view at a clients about 5 years ago - quite useful but in reality my view was just a 'bigger' version of access in allowing connections to multiple data sources (we were connecting to sql server, access and excel). It does multiple connections better and has the support of IT (it is under their control!) and is much more focused on business. It probably has better 'wizards' and moved on a lot since then...
 

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:26
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,343
Thanks CJ.
It's the multiple sources bit that my manager noticed. We use Salesforce in conjunction with other sources and it would be nice to access the data directly.
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:26
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
12,585
providing you have the permissions, you can do it from access. Salesforce is a bit of a forest - I didn't get into salesforce developing 'queries' as such, but created reports which could be downloaded. All depends on your permissions
 

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:26
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,343
....aaaaand there's our current problem. We have permission to go into salesforce and run reports. Nothing else.

I'm coming to the end of a two year battle that's resulted in them exporting a load of data for us on a daily basis, creating a few CSV files which I then import at our end, just so we can run the analysis we need.

Switching to salesforce cost a fortune and I've yet to meet anyone here who's happy with the end result apart from the CR team who are happy the restrictions on various fields have been removed during data entry, so they now no longer have to worry about not typing text into a numeric field, or vice versa.
[End Rant]
 

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 13:26
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
7,516
My Better-half has to use it and hates it, so I don't think you are alone.
I thought you could link to it if you have the permissions required, but if they won't let you then you are hoisted...
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:26
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
12,585
bearing in mind my experience is a few years old and things might have changed.

There was no issue with extracting reports from Salesforce except you often could not get the PK - you might get the customer PK, but you couldn't get the salespersons PK as primary contact (or the other way round). Their philosophy (as with many corporate systems) is that it is going to be used in Excel and is for 'one time use', not for mirroring records in another db.

My requirement was to determine sales commissions - I needed links into systems for HR, Legal, Billing and Salesforce plus a couple more. Primarily I needed to know who was managing a client on the day a sale was made, determine if commission was payable and if so, how much. This data used to be stored in Billing but when salesforce was introduced it became system master for client ownership (and sales organisation structure which was a whole other ballgame). That gave me two problems - 1) I no longer had a strong link between customers in billing (which was required to be system master for it to work) and customers in salesforce and 2) reports would only give me the current salesperson, not the one managing the client at the time.

Customers were very dynamic, business gaining many new customers daily, salespeople also swapped client management on a very regular basis (high 100 events every month).

Solved it in the end but a classic case of corporate systems not communicating with each other. Had to run daily reports which maintained a history table and raised exceptions where there were unmatched records in saleforce or billing. And modified business rules to say commission is paid the the salesperson who managed the account at 1 second past midnight on the day of a sale.
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:26
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
12,585
We have permission to go into salesforce and run reports. Nothing else.
mean't to respond to this. If you have access to Qlik View, you might find IT will be more responsive to widening your permissions.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom