Query most recent date and associated field data into form control (1 Viewer)

majordoc

Local time
Today, 16:40
Hello all

Any help gratefully appreciated. I'm not an Access professional - just a mere physician trying to setup a regional level database to help care for people with a specific serious rare disorder.

I have developed a database with a single large table. These patients have numerous investigations - results dates and values. For example, the following NT-ProBNP blood test:

Field: Date_NT-ProBNP_1 Field: Result_NT-ProBNP_1
Field: Date_NT-ProBNP_2 Field: Result_NT-ProBNP_2
Field: Date_NT-ProBNP_3 Field: Result_NT-ProBNP_3
Field: Date_NT-ProBNP_4 Field: Result_NT-ProBNP_4
Field: Date_NT-ProBNP_5 Field: Result_NT-ProBNP_5

I want a form with a control that displays:
- the most recent test result, both date and result (numerical value)
- the test result (date and value) with highest and lowest result

I've managed to design the rest of this database OK just using macros as don't know anything about VBA.
Again any help would be very much appreciated - will make a difference to care of these patients.

Regards

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 08:40
If it's not too late, I would recommend you change your table structure and break down your single large table into smaller related tables to manage your data more easily.

What you want can probably be done using macros, but if you want to try using VBA, take a look at this.

moke123

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 11:40
I have developed a database with a single large table.
That could be a problem.

At the very least you should have a table of patients, and then one or more additional tables concerning tests, etc.

edit: As always DBG beat me to it.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
not enough information to provide specific guidance, just to point you in the right direction