Query to find the Count (1 Viewer)

JithuAccess

Local time
Today, 07:46
Guys,

I am very new to Access. I have a Table called BasicData and 5 fields FName, SName, Country, ZIP and Remarks. I have total about 500 Records In the country Field I have 3 Values USA, Mexico and Canada. I want to create a query which shows How many Records for USA, Canada and Mexico. In my Query I want show like USA : 180 Canada: 120 and Mexico: 200

Could you guys kindly direct me. I have created a query but I am not getting the result which I am looking for.

Thanks in Advance

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:46
Hi. Welcome to AWF! First, you could try using a Totals query. Do you know how to do that? If not, we could try to give you a step-by-step instruction.

JithuAccess

Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF! First, you could try using a Totals query. Do you know how to do that? If not, we could try to give you a step-by-step instruction.
Thanks a lot for your reply. Could you kindly guide me please

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Try the following steps:
  1. From the Ribbon, select Create > Query Design
  2. From the Show Table dialog screen, highlight your table and click on the Add button, then click Close
  3. From your table, drag the fields you want to display on your query result down to the query grid - one field per column
  4. From the Ribbon > Design tab, click on the Totals button (with Sigma icon)
  5. In the Total: row in the query grid, you can change the Group By into Sum for the columns you want to add
Run the query and adjust as needed.

JithuAccess

Local time
Try the following steps:
  1. From the Ribbon, select Create > Query Design
  2. From the Show Table dialog screen, highlight your table and click on the Add button, then click Close
  3. From your table, drag the fields you want to display on your query result down to the query grid - one field per column