Record update / lockout on button click (1 Viewer)

ashleykitsune

Local time
Today, 12:34
Greetings all, as the title suggests I have a report that I would like to use to lock out records. Reports are not an area I have a lot of experience in yet.
A little background:
The purpose of this database is to check for data errors. The report specifically provides a list of all the errors it found using a short series of queries. Each record provides data from the main table, as well as a "key" field that identifies what record it is from, as well as a hidden lockout checkbox that is tied to a lockout field, as well as a text box where the user provides a synopsis of what they did to remedy the issue.

I want the record to become "disabled" (But still visible - basically make it read only) while the report is open, but update the original table with the lockout check and Notes textbox results. What I mean by this is, i want all the controls for that specific record to become uneditable and gray.
When the report is opened at a later date, the query is set to only show records where the checkbox is false so I don't need to worry about doing that programmatically.

Here's what I'm working with:
Report: Final-Compare_rpt
Main table: HistoricalData_tbl
Checkbox: lockout_chk / Control source: Fixed
Submit button: MarkFixed_btn / Control source: FixNotes
key field: Key_txt / Control source: Key

I honestly don't know where to start, but once I get a good start going, I think I could finish the rest.
Literally all I have:
Code:
Private Sub MarkFixed_btn_Click()

End Sub
Thank you!
~Ashley

Ranman256

Local time
before you open the report, run an update query that sets a field say: Locked , to true
then users cant edit if that field = true.

docmd.Setwarnings false
docmd.openquery "quLockTheseRecs"
docmd.openreport "rMyReport

ashleykitsune

Local time