Relationship Issue (1 Viewer)

Mark Nash

Local time
Today, 06:18
Good morning all, from an absolute noob.

I am butchering the downloadable Task Manager available as standard with Acces 2016.

I have created a table with a list of clients (named IFA), and populated the table with the names of the IFA's, and created a field in the task table, so that I can later populate the table with the names of the IFA for each task, via forms & subforms, as well as a button or text box to enter the name of a new IFA. I am trying to create a relationship between the IFA table and the Task table. However when I try to create the relationship, i get the following. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thank you

Mark

1628750699023.png

Attachments

• 1628750617139.png
    1628750617139.png
    295.5 KB · Views: 176

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
As it states, you need an index. I generally use an autonumber in all my tables?. That is always indexed and unique.

Mark Nash

Local time
Thanks, yes, I tried to associate the autonumber field from the IFA table, to the IFA field on the task table, on a one to many basis, but when I do this I get a message saying that "Relationship must be on the same number of fields with the same data types". I know there is a simple answer somewhere, but I'm stuck

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Normally you would have a PK for your IFA. As mentioned I always used an autonumber field.
That then becomes a foreign key in your Tasks table.
The tasks table would have it's own autonumber primary key.?

Might be quicker to upload your DB?, however you still need to understand the links and how it works?

Mark Nash

Local time