Return field name into array where field is true (1 Viewer)

Leyton01

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 17:31
I'm chasing how best to store the field names from all "true" fields from a table in an array (recordset? SQL?) and feedback of whether I am going about this correctly.

We audit documents and each document can have any number of issues from a defined issues list (although this list grows over time as we find new ways users can stuff up a document). All the issues are in the format XXX.XXX.XXX (eg 102.101.135 refers to a missing signature).

Currently I store the data in a table (tblAHDIssues) which has the issue identification number as the field name:
ID(key) | DocID (num unique) | 100.100.100 (yes/no) | 100.100.101 (yes/no) | etc

I have a master table (tblIssuesMatrix) of all the issues including their identification number, descriptions and some other data such as how critical the error is.

I want to be able to give the users scrolling through the database a list of all the issues associated with the document they are looking at in plain English. The way I was hoping to achieve this was:
Use the DocID to look up the relevant row in the table (tblAHDIssues) and return an array of the field names of all the "true" fields. I can then use this array to grab the descriptions and critical rating for all those fields from the tblIssuesMatrix.

Is using a recordset the best way to achieve this? Is this just poor database design and should be fixed? Appreciate any help.

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 00:31
That last thing. ;)

The issues should be records in a related table, related one to many by the document ID. Then it's a simple query join to get the descriptions.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Currently I store the data in a table (tblAHDIssues) which has the issue identification number as the field name:
ID(key) | DocID (num unique) | 100.100.100 (yes/no) | 100.100.101 (yes/no) | etc