Running multi-user Access in the Cloud (1 Viewer)

stevekos07

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 16:27
Hi. I will be needing to migrate an important Access database from a Citrix based intranet environment to a Cloud environment. What is the issue is that I have a VBScript file that performs a verification of version and copies the front end to a unique user's folder on their desktop. As the new environment will not involve a user's desktop as such, but will open using an app icon in a MyApps web application, how can I emulate this process? How have others handled running Access in a multi-user cloud environment? Sorry if I am not making myself clear.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 16:27
Hi. I will go out on a limb here and say that Access was never designed/intended to be used in a cloud environment. I think it was only intended as a Desktop application. If so, you may have to consider migrating your app into a cloud based application. Just a thought...

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 18:27
Your question was perfectly clear. We have found that in general, Access doesn't work very well with clouds. The research you need to perform is whether you will be able to use SMB (Server Message Block) protocol with that cloud vendor. If the answer is no, then you can't use Access.

Generally speaking, most of the time your cloud operations involve transferring whole files into your cloud account. They will use a whole-file protocol such as (but not limited to) some FTP (File Transfer Protocol) variant. But Access needs to interact with PARTS of a whole file, which is normally done using SMB protocol. I'm not going to say Access could NEVER work with a cloud, but I will say that it will probably not work with any cloud system that doesn't allow that SMB "partial file" protocol.

zeroaccess

Local time
Yesterday, 18:27
Interestingly, FTP was just removed from the latest version of Chrome.