Search Across Multiple Tables plus Fuzzy Relationships (1 Viewer)

Denise2020

Local time
Today, 22:54
I am trying to work this out in my head and so far I am having little luck and thought perhaps all the geniuses here might have some insight for me. I apologize ahead of time if I supply more information than needed but it does help to talk it out. Thanks for your patience!

Short story: I have a database with four main tables and forms for each. Ideally, I would like all four table groups to work together, but am struggling with how to set up those relationships to make it work.

Very long background:
I have a very complex (to me) database that I created for work as a total novice. I was given four gigantic and unwieldy excel documents years ago and originally created four databases. It is in use by four people. Over the years I have tried to read up on best practices (I am youtube-taught so my skills are about zero) to make (hopefully) improvements.

There was so much cross-over information in the four databases I decided to combine them into one, which has worked quite well. Right now it comprises:

1) an Ordnance Table (ammunition, rockets, bombs, mines, etc.) listing all objects in our files. Each object has an official ObjID# and ObjName for reference.

2) a Library Table listing all physical and digital media we have, including books, pdf files, physical discs, catalogues, and more that has to do with ordnance but often not just about one object, but many, sometimes none at all. A book might be about military in general and not reference any objects specifically; but a single book or catalogue could reference a hundred different items. There is no "ObjName" field specifically to simply create a relationship to in the Ordnance table and I am having trouble figuring out how to relate one book to multiple ordnance objects. This table currently has a "Notes" field where I list all objects that the book references (not pretty, but it works).