Search Form (1 Viewer)

poh99

Local time
Today, 22:48
Hello, I am unable to upload my company database so I replicate something similar (with lesser fields). My company asked me to do a search form for the database. I have done the basic search form but I need some help with the followings which I have stuck for weeks.

1) When user open the search form, I do now want to display all results in the subform before user do any search
2) Before search, user click on search button and all result will be displayed. How do I disable it (The one circle in red, in the image file)
3) I tried figuring how to allow user to search with one field and when no result found, it will prompt user that no result found.
4) Any ways to disable user from copying out the record from the search

Sorry if I ask too many questions as I am totally new to MS Access and with limited knowledge.

Attachments

• Search Form.accdb
    560 KB · Views: 325
  • image.PNG
    image.PNG
    5.4 KB · Views: 299

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:48
I presume you mean 'not want to display...' not 'now want to display...'.

1. change your form recordsource to include WHERE False (or as you have in your clear button code )
2a. in your if statements in the search code, change strText = strText & " AND Address Like '" & Me.Address & "'" to strText = strText & " AND Address = '" & Me.Address & "'" (otherwise a use could just enter '*' to get all the records
2b. at the bottom of your search code use

Code:
If strText <> "1 " Then
        strSQL = strSQL & " WHERE " & strText
        Me.SearchSubForm.Form.RecordSource = strSQL
else
    btnClear_Click
End If

3. only way to do this is some code to check the number of records found before changing the recordsource - but isn't it obvious since no records will be displayed?

4. Not easily - it is a windows functionality, you would need to temporarily disable.

Last edited:

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time