Solved Set the text in one field of ALL the records on a continuous form to the selection from a single combobox (1 Viewer)

Sam Summers

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:28
Joined
Sep 17, 2001
Messages
678
I am trying to force one field of all the records on a continuous form to text that is selected from a combo box in the header who's data comes from another table.

When the user selects the option i want the same field in all the records to change to that and be saved in the associated table.

This is because of the way the data is presented (basically a list with tick boxes alongside each record).
When the user ticks the box the current date is automatically inserted alongside the record.

This is my third day on this so many thanks if someone can shed some light on it?

I'm off for a bottle of whisky!
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:28
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
14,098
Hi. Have you tried using an UPDATE query?
 

Sam Summers

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:28
Joined
Sep 17, 2001
Messages
678
Hi. Have you tried using an UPDATE query?
Hi, i haven't but maybe that is the best way. I'll dabble with that and get back to this thread.
Thank you!
 

Sam Summers

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:28
Joined
Sep 17, 2001
Messages
678
Right that worked to an extent apart from the first record in the continuous form (The one that has the focus on form opening).
Closer than before though
 

Sam Summers

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:28
Joined
Sep 17, 2001
Messages
678
And i'm getting a 'write conflict' message when i try and close the form?
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:28
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
14,098
Right that worked to an extent apart from the first record in the continuous form (The one that has the focus on form opening).
Closer than before though
That depends on what your UPDATE query looks like.
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:28
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
14,098
And i'm getting a 'write conflict' message when i try and close the form?
Ah, that means you're updating the table while also updating the form at the same time. Try saving the form edit first before updating the table.
 

Sam Summers

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:28
Joined
Sep 17, 2001
Messages
678
Fantastic! That got it. Onto the next problem now.

Thank you!!

I live and learn albeit slowly........
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom