Slow Access via LAN and windows 10 (1 Viewer)

vagman

Member
Local time
Today, 13:13
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
42
Hello,

I had a db for years with tables in the server win7 and forms in the clients win 7 and now some new pc with win10
I noticed that some times the forms are opening very slow
I think that if another user with win10 writes at the same time to a form this form opens very slow to the other users
An solution ?
 

vagman

Member
Local time
Today, 13:13
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
42
maintain a persistent connection to your BE.
see the DAO Opendatabase Method:
in the following
strName = "H:\folder\Backend1.mdb"
must correct the name of server access file with tables?

And then this will be added to all clients db ?

Thank you
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 19:13
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,169
yes, you only need to do this once (on the FE).
you must supply the Correct sharing folder path and
the correct name of your BE (the code on that site is but
example).

of course nothing will happen if you dont call the sub/function.
change it the public function so that you can call it in autoexec macro.
 

vagman

Member
Local time
Today, 13:13
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
42
yes, you only need to do this once (on the FE).
you must supply the Correct sharing folder path and
the correct name of your BE (the code on that site is but
example).

of course nothing will happen if you dont call the sub/function.
change it the public function so that you can call it in autoexec macro.
ok I changed to this

But how can i call the sub/function in autoexec macro?

Thanks again
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    161.3 KB · Views: 219

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 19:13
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,169
change cintMaxDatabases to 1 instead of 2 (you only have 1 backend).
change the Sub to Function.

create a macro:

RunCode: OpenAllDatabases(True)

save the macro as Autoexec.
close and re-start your FE.
 

vagman

Member
Local time
Today, 13:13
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
42
change cintMaxDatabases to 1 instead of 2 (you only have 1 backend).
change the Sub to Function.

create a macro:

RunCode: OpenAllDatabases(True)

save the macro as Autoexec.
close and re-start your FE.
ok I changed it
But when I am going to run the macro
I receive the message that the expression contains function that not exists
 

Attachments

  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    261.6 KB · Views: 205

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 11:13
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,038
yes, you only need to do this once (on the FE).
you must supply the Correct sharing folder path and
the correct name of your BE (the code on that site is but
example).

of course nothing will happen if you dont call the sub/function.
change it the public function so that you can call it in autoexec macro.
 

vagman

Member
Local time
Today, 13:13
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
42
ok I did it and put this to an always open form
I put this only to my access pc and I can't see faster result
This should be also at all other pc's to work ?
I think that the problem is when 2 users with Win 10 are working in the same time in the same form
 
Last edited:

shadow9449

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:13
Joined
Mar 5, 2004
Messages
1,037
All of these methods of good practice when designing and deploying an Access app are important and should be followed.

But it raises the question: WHY did it work well over Win 7 and is suddenly slow on Win 10? I've heard of this happening with some of my own users, to be honest. (Note: MOST of the time users just migrate to Win 10 and the app performs the same as it did, including over a network, in Win 7. But I have heard of this type of slowness and was hoping someone knew the cause of it)
 

vagman

Member
Local time
Today, 13:13
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
42
It is possible the problem to be related with network sharing and locks?
Or if a user has open a form and another user try to open this form this form is opening with delay
 
Last edited:

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:13
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,553
possibly, forms should not be based on whole tables - did you read the link I provided in post #10

Check is the lock settings (File>Options>Client Settings), Would expect be set to no locks default, and open database using record level locking
 

vagman

Member
Local time
Today, 13:13
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
42
I found an older file of the database that I had for years without Compact and repair and without Compile and this works in all pc's very fast
When I try to compact and repair and run compile, without any error I notice again slow performance
How can I find the reason?
 

vagman

Member
Local time
Today, 13:13
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
42
I tried many solutions but I see that the problem remains and it happens when a form has vba code in events
I have Access 2000
I want to know if there is available some updated for VBA or some service packs.
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:13
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,553
no idea, haven't used access 2000 for twenty years. Her is a link to the patches that were issued

you should be able to see what has been implemented in something like File>Help or it's equivalent for 2000

However I doubt that is the issue, more likely the code is not doing whatever it does very efficiently

You haven't said whether or not you have tried the suggestions already made.
 

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:13
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
26,996
In answer to a question you asked, I do not know of any MAJOR changes to file locking mechanisms from Win7 to Win10, but there could be some complexity with changes to Trust Center. Microsoft CAN'T easily change locking protocols because so many non-Windows products emulate Windows File Sharing. If MS "broke" file sharing, users and 3rd-party vendors would raise a ruckus that would be audible around the world. However, the two versions of Windows would have different PATCH history. You would do your best to keep up with patching each system for as long as patching is available, though for Win7 I think that is mostly out of support status.

It might be useful to take some metrics on your Win7 and Win10 machines. Find one that runs fast and one that runs slow even though both are on the same (or approximately the same) speed hardware. Use Task Manager and select the Performance panel. Near the bottom of that you can select the Network display and see average or peak data rates. (The graphs are pretty but it is the actual numeric data rate you want, UNDER the graphs.) You might have to find a way to split the screens between Task Manager and Access so you can "do your thing" with Access and see what TM has to say about network speed. Run your app on each system. If the corresponding average and maximum network speeds are within a few percent of each other on the two machines, the problem isn't the network.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom