Some basic help please (1 Viewer)

okanagan

Local time
Today, 13:31
I'm posting my first question, having read the newbie guides. I have little knowledge but much desire. I would appreciate any guidance.

I am developing an application to track labour hours and costs by project. I've attached a prototype database with 3 tables:
Labour - contains employee, project, hours, pay period end date, calculated cost.
Rates - contains classification, hourly rate
Staff - contains employee, classification

For relationships I've linked:
Employee in Labour to employee in Staff.
Classification in Staff to classification in Rates.
That seems to work for producing the results I want from simple queries.

Employee classification changes over time. I plan to use a form so users can update.
Hourly rate by classification also changes. I'll use a form for this as well.

I envision users adding hours for their employees on a form that captures employee, pay period, project, hours. I'd like to calculate the cost of those hours by referencing the employee's classification plus the hourly rate for that classification. The calculated cost would then be stored in the labour table and retain the calculated value in spite of future employee classification and rate changes.

I've tried various combinations of queries and forms (not included in my sample upload) but I've run into #Name errors when I put the calculated field on the form and the form will not allow the adding of new records, even with the DataEntry property set to yes.

Am I on the right track at all?

Thanks,
Chris
Using Access 2016

Attachments

• LabourTracking.accdb
    476 KB · Views: 151

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 21:31
the rule is one form, one table - your form has 3 tables. You need to use subforms

It's not totally clear to me what you are trying to do or what classifications are, but you should be linking to ID's (the primary key) not the name in your relationships