Subform Data filled with selection on main form (1 Viewer)

masselin

Local time
Yesterday, 19:22
Hello, I am not very experienced with access so I will try to have this question make as much sense as possible. What I am building is an estimating system and what I am trying to do is to get my main form and subforms to display a quote relating to a quote number. I have seven forms the main being the "QuoteFrm" the subforms being "InfoFrm" "WeightsandMaterialFrm" "LaborFrm" "OutsideCostFrm2" "AdditionalChargesFrm" and "CommentsFrm". What I am trying to do is make it so that when the user selects a quote number on the main form "QuoteFrm" that it fill pull all the data related to that quote number into the subforms from the respective tables and or queries. I am not sure how to do this as my attempts to form a relationship have resulted in the quote number being saved into the subforms tables and the data that I entered into the subforms themselves is also in their tables but then I am not able to retrieve the data when I return to the forms. I have the forms linked by the quote number as the parent and child fields. I hope this makes some sort of sense. If not I will ty to provide some clarity if I can.

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Instead of starting with forms, it would be helpful if you gave a description of the business in simple English. Perhaps you could use a quote for something and tell us about which and how business processes handle the quote from start to finish. This will show the "work steps" in context and will help identify tables and relationships; and then the user interface(s)/forms involved.

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
What you describe sounds correct.
main form has a quote number.
Subforms are linked to main form by quote number
It sounds like you can enter new data into the subs and it creates the proper parent child link in the subform.

Can you explain what this means?