Super New to Access - List Box Help (2 Viewers)

austinsneeze

Local time
Yesterday, 22:28
Hi,

I am new to Access and I'm trying to figure out how to show records on my form based on what was selected from my list box. I tried to search the forum but had no luck. I know there is a simple solution but I'm so new, I don't know what to search for.

Thank you in advance.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2023-05-05 074538.png
    Screenshot 2023-05-05 074538.png
    62.3 KB · Views: 56
Solution
The boundColumn property tells you from which column the value of the listbox comes from.
So the code provided will work regardless of the number of visible columns. It will always pull the value from the bound column

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Yesterday, 23:28
Lets assume your listbox holds the material ID in the first column and that is the bound column (you can hide this if you want). Then you have other columns like number and name etc.

on list23 afterupdate event (find the afterupdate event in properties and click on "...". Select code not macro"
This will build a vba event procedure

if not isnull(me.list23) then me.recordset.findfirst "MtrlID = " & me.list23
If your materialID is a string
if not isnull(me.list23) then me.recordset.findfirst "MtrlID = '" & me.list23 & "'"

MajP

Local time
If you do a subform it is easy. Assuming again the listbox is bound to the materialID
Then in the subform controls
Parent Link Fields: [list23]
Child Link Fields: [MrlID]

austinsneeze

Local time
Lets assume your listbox holds the material ID in the first column and that is the bound column (you can hide this if you want). Then you have other columns like number and name etc.

on list23 afterupdate event (find the afterupdate event in properties and click on "...". Select code not macro"
This will build a vba event procedure

if not isnull(me.list23) then me.recordset.findfirst "MtrlID = " & me.list23
If your materialID is a string