Table Structure and Relantionships (1 Viewer)

tmyers

Local time
Yesterday, 21:16
As some of you are aware, I have been attempting to make a database to track spaces in a warehouse and what material is in the given space and if a given space is taken or available. After taking several days thinking it over, I scrapped the previous iteration I had and rebuilt it

Attached is what I have put together so far. Are there problems with how I have it built yet? Would you do it differently?
I don't think I am using warehouse correctly as logically, warehouse is the next tier up in the hierarchy. However, I don't need it as we only have one warehouse but tried putting it in for future proofing or the possibly of sub-warehouses.

I am still unsure how I should handle the locations themselves. Should I keep the separate parts of the locations in different tables as I do now? Should I have a master list of all locations in one table (how would I populate that given the amount of possible combinations)? How would you handle instances where an item takes up multiple spaces?

My thought process for the structure is as follows (it might be a little disjointed and not in the right hierarchy):
You have a warehouse
A warehouse consist of many locations.
A location can have a single item, many of a single item, or many different items of various amounts
Items are part of a project
A project can have many items in many locations
A project belongs to a single customer
A customer can have many projects

Attachments

• Bill & Hold Bin Locations V2.accdb
    836 KB · Views: 97

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:16
Not sure of the benefit of the aisle, bay and shelf tables - presume these are going to be identified as 1,2 3 or A, B, C or similar.

However you might want to consider:

A warehouse has many aisles
an aisle has many bays
a bay has many shelves (min 1)
a shelf can hold many bins (min 1)
a bin can contain only one material (or many materials?)