• ** There has been a recent site upgrade. Please clear your browser cache to avoid issues. **
  • New forum feature - post voting and best solution

    Check out this thread for the details: https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/threads/new-forum-feature-post-voting-and-best-answer.314134/

    This new feature looks great to me! :)

  • We now have 3 forum themes

    Go for the default (light) theme, Shades of Grey or Shades of Blue. I just added the Blue one.

    The thread about it is here: https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/threads/new-forum-theme-shades-of-blue.314136/

Trouble with Migration Assistant V 8.14 (1 Viewer)

Thales750

Formerly Jsanders
Local time
Today, 04:22
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
1,727
This is an old installation that has worked fine for 2 year or so.

When migrating an Access Backend everything looks to be working fine.
Migration Wizard 10132020 45937 PM.bmp.jpg

SqlMigration15 [SQL Server 2017]  - SQL Server Migration Assistant for Access (32 bit) 1013202...jpg

Migration Wizard 10132020 51511 PM.bmp.jpg


Until This Point

SqlMigration15 [SQL Server 2017]  - SQL Server Migration Assistant for Access (32 bit) 1013202...jpg
Data Migration Report 10132020 51744 PM.bmp.jpg
Error List 10132020 51816 PM.bmp.jpg


There are definitely no records in these tables.

I have used This installation of SQL Migrations Assistant on this exact Access Database before. This is Office 365 2016 Running on win 7.

Anything pointing in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Joe
 

arnelgp

error reading drive A:
Local time
Today, 16:22
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
10,544
No ans, becoz nobody want to pretend that they are using that tool.
 

NauticalGent

CopyPaster of the First Order
Local time
Today, 04:22
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
3,011
Good morning Thales, I have no suggestions as you seem to know what you are doing and the only migration I have done was when you used to be able to do it from within Access.

Giving a reply to let you know the thread is alive and hopefully give it a "bump" to get things moving...
 

Thales750

Formerly Jsanders
Local time
Today, 04:22
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
1,727
I tried it this morning on a Win 10 machine with a brand new installation of Migration Assistant, on the same SQL Server and the same Access Backend.

It worked perfectly. I guess it is time to retire Win7.
I'm not entirely happy about that, but too busy to start a rant session.
 

NauticalGent

CopyPaster of the First Order
Local time
Today, 04:22
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
3,011
Arnel is not a rude person, but I will let him reply if he feels the need to explain himself!
 

Thales750

Formerly Jsanders
Local time
Today, 04:22
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
1,727
Arnel is not a rude person, but I will let him reply if he feels the need to explain himself!
I may have overreacted. Still, part of being connected to society is to have the discipline to apply a filter.

Nautical? Do you live the sailor's life?
 

NauticalGent

CopyPaster of the First Order
Local time
Today, 04:22
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
3,011
I may have overreacted. Still, part of being connected to society is to have the discipline to apply a filter.

Nautical? Do you live the sailor's life?
English is not his first language even though he speaks it very well - sometimes he comes across differently then he intended.

I was in the US Navy for over 20 years. When I was courting my wife, she referred to me as her Nautical Gentleman...
 

arnelgp

error reading drive A:
Local time
Today, 16:22
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
10,544
sorry for the impression, but the answer is same as post #2, No idea.
 

Thales750

Formerly Jsanders
Local time
Today, 04:22
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
1,727
No Worries, thank you for the post.

I guess many folks just use the Server Management tools to import tables and then import data.

What is you preferred method?
 

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 09:22
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
7,341
Is the Migration Assistant the same version on the Win 7 machine and the Win 10 machine?
 

Thales750

Formerly Jsanders
Local time
Today, 04:22
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
1,727
Is the Migration Assistant the same version on the Win 7 machine and the Win 10 machine?
Sorry for the delay. Thanks for taking interest.

I don't know, once I got it to work on the Win 10 machine, I moved on. It's a problem for someone else to solve.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom