Update A field in a table upon clicking a button (1 Viewer)

karlreiner

Local time
Today, 10:09
Hi All,

I am fairly new to Access and is having a hard time achieving the things below:

I have two Tables:

Daily Log
Volunteer List

1 form that logs user service times.

Upon clicking a button in the form I need the following to happen:

1) look in the "Daily Log" Table for [Volunteers] that have log a row with [Date] within the last 6 months
Note: The Volunteer Column is only a look up, so the data in there is actually equivalent to Volunteer_ID in the Volunteer List. Which means it is simply numeric.
2) go to the "Volunteer List" Table and update the [Inactive/Active]
a. For those volunteers that are filtered in 1), return "active" in [Inactive/Active]
b. For those that are not, return "inactive" in [Inactive/Active]

Please help

Attachments

• TheBridge.zip
    530.5 KB · Views: 193

stopher

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 03:09
Welcome to the forum.

First of all you should not use lookups in tables. It will give you severe headaches at some point. You can still use lookups in your forms though.

Second, what you are asking for here is essentially derived (or calculated) data. As a general rule you should not store calculated data in your database. Instead you should use a query to provide the data as required.

Here's a query that will give you the "status" of your volunteers (I've assumed that 6 months is 183 days):
Code:
SELECT [Volunteer List].[Last Name], IIf(Count([Daily Log].[Date])>0,"Active","Inactive") AS Status
FROM [Volunteer List] LEFT JOIN [Daily Log] ON [Volunteer List].ID = [Daily Log].Volunteer
WHERE ((([Daily Log].Date)>=Date()-183 Or ([Daily Log].Date) Is Null))
GROUP BY [Volunteer List].[Last Name]

hth
Chris

karlreiner

Local time
Today, 10:09
Hi Chris,

Thank you for this information. I checked it out and it gave a result of the statuses of my volunteers.