Update Access table with weekly Excel exports (1 Viewer)

tommyslash

Local time
Today, 10:25
Hi forum members!

I am new to Access, have searched the web for the last couple of hours and don't seem to get anywhere.
Basically I have an inventory system that is neglected by IT. To answer certain questions I import parts of
that system in my own Access DB to forge away with my queries.
Thanks to this forum I've covered quiet a lot of ground in the past few days with left joins and cross tables ;-)
however I am a newb and for the acutal problem I might even have to tackle with VBA from what I can guess so far.

So far I've only needed data from the last snapshot / export of that system, but as I venture on, I need to
have access to historical data as well.

Here is what I want to achieve:
I have a folder where I put the weekly xls exports: yyyy-mm-dd-inventory.xls of the base inventory of neglected system.
I want to import and merge all excel files into one single Access table from that folder.

Items that don't show up in a later export anymore should remain in that Access table.
Items that still show up just update all fields, aside from the id.
New items are simply appended.

Optional:
an additional column to save the date of the last export file where respective item has been seen.

Could you please point me in a direction where to start?
Any suggestions highly appreciated.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 01:25
Hi. Welcome to AWF! Do the records from Excel have primary keys?

tommyslash

Local time
Hi, I use the serial numbers of the respective items as primary key.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 01:25
Hi, I use the serial numbers of the respective items as primary key.