VBA referencing one field of several in an SQL driven combo box (1 Viewer)

Kelanen

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:39
Hi all, As is usual here, I have a problem! In fact I have two, but we'll look at the more pressing for now.

I'm not a programmer. Just for background, I've been working with Access on and off since Access 95, although until 6 months ago hadn't touched anything later than 2000. This all relates to a problem in Access 2010, although I doubt the version is relevant here, I think it's me just not understanding the basics of referencing things in VBA.

VBA is very new to me, (as in the last 6-8 weeks). Prior to that the last coding I did was back at uni 20 years ago on things like Basic and Pascal (predating the Object Oriented revolution entirely). I've always said that I can do pretty much any Access work anyone requires as long as it doesn't need coding or SQL, but here I am working on some databases that have needed coding so I'm kind of learning as I go with copious use of Google, and forums like this one. So far I've muddled through by trial and error, and copying examples, and got it do what I need to do, but at the moment I am stuck - and I'm sure it's something very basic!

I have a form with a simple query control source containing 4 fields:

Code:
[Student ID] type Text
[Forename] type Text
[Surname] type Text
[PostGrad] type Yes/No

The form (actually it's a subForm, but don't worry about that - this is all being done in isolation in just the subForm) contains two controls:

An unbound combo box (combo_NameSearch) which which is populated by the following SQL:

Code:
SELECT [Surname] &", "& [Forename], [Student ID], [Postgrad] FROM qry_DynamicSearch_NameSearch;

...and a button (buttonSearch), with an OnClick event:

Code:
Private Sub button_Search_Click()

'Check whether UG/PG and open appropriate form
If Me.combo_NameSearch.Column(2) = "False" Then DoCmd.OpenForm "frm_Students_UG", , , "[Student ID] = """ & Me![Student ID] & """"