Vlookup across two database tables (1 Viewer)

intrapostal

Local time
Today, 08:02
Hey all, and apologies if this sounds very 'basic'--I'm new to my access journey!
I have one VERY large database in Access already (over 2mill rowsx 140 columns), and a smaller CSV file.
Is there a way of opening both in access and then doing essentially a Vlookup to retrieve accounts found in both?

Many many thanks in advance

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 03:02
In a database you do this by joining the two tables on the account ID or whatever the common field/s is/are using a query.

Last edited:

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 15:02
you can also use Query that Inner Joins both tables and csv on a Common field (Account field?).

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
We call it DLookUp() in Access.

spaLOGICng

Local time
Today, 00:02
Hi,

You can link to the CSV File in Access. Go to the External Data Tab, then click the New Data Source button from the Ribbon, and under the File Menu, select Text File. You will be taken through the Spec Definitions, i.e. delimiters, data types, etc., and once complete, the CSV Will be linked. The Table Name will be the same as the Filename. You can rename the Linked CSV Table Name in Access to suit your needs.

Once the CSV is Linked, you can create a Query and JOIN your Access Table to your CSV Linked Table on the appropriate Fields.