Vlookup equivalent in Access???? (1 Viewer)

ewong

Local time
Today, 14:14
Hi all,

I am currently working on an Access project.

I have 2 tables:
Table 1 has 10 fields: Account ID, Employee ID, etc
Table 2 has 3 fields: Account ID, Employee ID, Commission Date

Both tables have the same Account ID and Employee ID information.

What I want to do is I want to pull Commission Date information from Table 2 and put it on Table 1. The data on Commission Date will vary depending on Account ID and Employee ID.

If this is in Excel, I can always use vlookup. But I am currently on Access and I have never used Access before.

I would also need to do this every month so I think I would need to use a type of programming language (like a macro) that would automate this.

Since I am VERY new on Access and even more on programming language, I would appreciate it if you guys could provide me with a detailed step by step guidance

Thanks for your help!

Beetle

Duly Registered Boozer
Local time
Today, 15:14
What I want to do is I want to pull Commission Date information from Table 2 and put it on Table 1.

By "put it on Table 1" I'm guessing that you mean you want to store this data in Table 1. In most cases it is inadvisable to redundantly store the same data in two different tables. The Commission Date data already exists in Table 2 so just retrieve it from there whenever you need it.

If this is in Excel, I can always use vlookup. But I am currently on Access and I have never used Access before.

I would also need to do this every month so I think I would need to use a type of programming language (like a macro) that would automate this.