Which database is recommended to use? (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cright99

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 12:16
Our business is using Access 2007 for its database. It users the workgroup way (Not sure what its called) to connect multiusers to the database.

Our database is a immigration company that records information on customers names, address's, what visa/permit they are on, invoicing and recept information etc. We have now about 2500 users stored on the database. The size of the database always is about 2000Mb. (Which is the max size of it bloating)

What database would you people recommend? Is this amount of people we have too much for access to handle? How much users is recommended for access?

ajetrumpet

Banned
Local time
Today, 18:16
i'm no expert, but I think you should migrate elsewhere that has the capacity to handle that. i don't know much outside of microsoft office, but I do a little bit with MYSQL. But I would guess your next step would be SQL server, with using Access as a front end interface.

bulrush

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:16
- 2000mb (2gb) is not that big for a database.

- Native Access can handle about 1 million records but it does slow down a bit.

- Why is your MDB file so big if there is only 2500 users? Are you storing any images with each record? Try opening the MDB file, going to Tools, Database Utilities, then Compact and Repair. I think you have a lot of "dead space" from deleted records in there.

This should shrink your MDB file.

ajetrumpet

Banned
Local time
i'm still contemplating why you insist on posting stuff in threads that are obviously closed

i seem to be a target for your posts too. hmmmmm....

JamesMcS

Keyboard-Chair Interface
Local time
Today, 23:16
1. How do you tell if a post is closed?

2. 2GB is the maximum file size limit for Acces databases.

3. Access can handle unlimited records up until point 2. (I have a database with 12 million records in one table, all good).