Writing a query to a text file (1 Viewer)

spet

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:47
Good Morning,

I am looking to write the results of a query to a text file (first creating the text file) I have never done this before and am very confused with some of the stuff I'm finding online.

Can anyone help me with the basic format of this?

Thank you in advance

spet

Registered User.
Local time
Oh man, this is way easier than what I was trying to do. Is there anyway to export the results with fixed width to keep my current formatting? Another program will be reading and uploading this information? Thank you both!

spet

Registered User.
Local time
Also, I have multiple queries I want to send to that file. Is there anyway to open it and append after creating?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 01:47
Oh man, this is way easier than what I was trying to do. Is there anyway to export the results with fixed width to keep my current formatting? Another program will be reading and uploading this information? Thank you both!
You could try creating an export specification to define the fixed width of each column.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Also, I have multiple queries I want to send to that file. Is there anyway to open it and append after creating?
The easiest approach I could think of for doing something like that is to combine the results of all the queries into one query or table and then output that into a text file.

Otherwise, another approach is to export each query into separate text files and then use code to combine them into one text file.

Last edited:

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:47
Use TransferText. Export the file ONCE manually to build the export spec. Then once the spec is built, you can automate by using the TransferText method.