Best way for sorting text field as numeric? (1 Viewer)

Garindan

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:25
Hi everyone, would anyone be able to help me out?

I would like to ask what would be the best/easiest way to be able to sort a text field as numeric? I have a customer database, and the 'House/Flat Number' field is a text field as it has to contain letters aswell, i.e. 41b, etc, and in a very small amount of cases the customer has a house name instead of a number. The problem is that now i'm starting to build reports, output the data, bla bla and i'm obviously having the sort order come as 1,111,21,210,34,4,5,56, etc.

So i just wanted to ask for some help with this. I'm still learning at the moment so please try not to be too technical with me :eek:

Is there a way of just having leading zero's? I would not need more than 3 so that would be acceptable, but i guess there's no way of hiding them?

What other ways are there of doing it? Thanks for any help any one can give, it is much appreciated. :)

FoFa

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:25
Actually you could use spaces instead.
sortField: Space(5-LEN([MyCol])) & [MyCol]

so given you have none over 5 in length (the 5-LEN portion) your example would create
1, 4, 5, 21, 34, 56, 111, 210 because of leading spaces.
You would NOT have to display the field, just sort by it.
As one possible way

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 15:25
As long as the numbers are the leading value, you can use the Val() function to extract just the numbers. You can then get the rest of the characters by using the Len() and Mid() functions:

Select * From YourTable
Order By Nz(Val(YourField),0) as NumVal,
Mid(YourField, Nz(Len(Val(YourField)) +1,1)) as TextVal;

Last edited:

Garindan

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks for your replies, i think i have a problem, will it still work considering that there are a few (very small amount) of entries which use house names instead of numbers??