Advice on Access 2007 development (1 Viewer)

Wayne Cramer

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 18:54
I have extensive experience developing application in Access 200/2003. I've been presented with an opportunity to develop a manufacturing process database but the client wants it developed in 2007. What is the learning curve for 2007 for those with prior Access experience? This is a great contract but I don't want to get in over my head, Any advice? I know I will eventually need to provide services in 2007 so should I just go for it now? I appreciate your wisdom on this subject.:confused:

David Eagar

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:54
Still getting to grips with it myself, but other than the layout being very different, it still seems to behave much the same.

The biggest difference is the removal of the system.mdw for user security. I wasn't too flash in this area anyway, but if you need to convert existing databases that relied on this feature, you might be in for some fun & games

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 16:54
I say go for it. Since you're already experienced, you'll just stumble over how to do certain things differently, but most of it hasn't changed that much. The Ribbon will certainly be a challenging PITA at first. As you say, you'll need to transition sooner or later, so may as well do it now with a nice contract to ease the pain. :p

You'll find a lot of good info here:

http://allenbrowne.com/Access2007.html

Simon_MT

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 00:54
You could cheat a little by keeping the 2003 file mdb format, develop in 2003 and converting into 2007 after each development phase. The User Inreface is the major area that has been changed in 2007 - I think for the better. The rest is of the environment is familiar Access.

The Ribbon is the only area that is contentious!

Simon

daviedaft

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 16:54