Connection to AS400 with ODBC (1 Viewer)

a2knovice

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 23:51
I am an A2K novice and I need some help with connecting to an AS/400.

I have my ODBC data source created and it works well. I'm comfortable with the SQL syntax I'll need in A2K to fetch my AS/400 data. I have no idea what is necessary in the way of VB code in A2K to do the connection. Can somebody point me in the right direction where I can find some code samples? I searched this board prior to submitting this thread but came up empty. Time is ticking on this project.

All help is greatly appreciated.

KeithG

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 21:51
If you want to view the data in Access you could you a Passthrough query. You will need to create a DSN for the connection but after that just type in you SQL statement and you will be ready to go.

a2knovice

Registered User.
Local time
Don't I need some kind of connection string first? My goal is to fetch data from the AS/400 database and store in access; I'll do this via SQL statements. But, don't I need some kind of connection string in a module of some sort?

KeithG

AWF VIP
Local time
I do a similar process here at work. The connection information will be in the DSN that you create for you passthrough query. Once you make your passthrough query you will need to make an Append query from the passthrough query to Append the info to a database table in Access.

KeithG

AWF VIP
Local time
I do a similar process here at work. The connection information will be in the DSN that you create for you passthrough query. Once you make your passthrough query you will need to make an Append query from the passthrough query to Append the info to a database table in Access.

a2knovice

Registered User.
Local time
I don't know what you mean by passthrough query and append query. Are you talking about creating some sort of MS Access query? This is going to be realtime fetching of data, wouldn't the SQL statement in a function be faster?