Database & table structure -- Bakery question (1 Viewer)

andreohnona

Local time
Today, 04:26
Hi,

Context
I am a database novice currently in the process of building an access database to manage production in a manufacturing company.

Simplified Version of Problem
Suppose I wanted to build a database to manage the baking process at a bakery.

Goal is to eventually generate a report from this database that tells the baker i) which raw ingredients to use and ii) gives instructions on baking his cake from the raw ingredients.

I believe I would need the following tables:

tblRawIngredients --> contains all raw ingredients that the bakery purchases (as well as respective properties of those ingredients)

tblCake --> all cakes sold at the bakery (and their respective properties)

tblCakeIngredients --> For each cake, this table stores which Raw Ingredients are needed and in what quantities. This table links tblCake with tblIngredients in some sort of many-to-many relationship

tblCakeInstructions --> For each cake must give me instructions as to how to bake

Specific Question

How do you recommend setting-up tblCakeIngredients?
Given my inexperience, I am not sure which structure would be easiest to work with.
I could think of two options:

Option 1) Each record couples 1 ingredient with 1 cake.
The field list would be :

Cake (links to tblCake)
Ingredient (links to tblRawIngredients)
Quantity

In order to know the complete ingredient list for "Brownies" we'd have to pull all records where Cake = Brownies

Option 2) Each record gives the complete list of ingredients for a cake. The field list would therefore be

Cake(links to tblCake)
Ingredient_1 (links to tblRawIngredients)
Quantity_1
Ingredient_2 (links to tblRawIngredients)
Quantity_2
Ingredient_3 (links to tblRawIngredients)
Quantity_3
Ingredient_4 (links to tblRawIngredients)
Quantity_4
ETC....