help with a query in vba (1 Viewer)

Gr3g0ry

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:38
1705876133952.png

i have this form and need to write a query that will get Product name, category, price, quantity in stock from the products table ...

Select productname, category, price, quantityinstock from Products where Productid = pid.value

im new to written queries ... and this is as far as ive gotten.
how do i implement it and use the values returned to populate the form ??

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 17:38
First, quantityinstock should not be a value in a table. This value should be determined via math---all the amounts put into inventory minus all the amounts taken from inventory.

Second, what's the purpose of this form? What datasource is it bound to?

Third, why's it not bound to the product table itself? That would make whatever you are attempting to achieve in VBA moot.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 23:38
how do i implement it and use the values returned to populate the form ??

Really depends on what the form is intended to do. As below to simply display the contents of the table or use a combo to select the product so you can add a quantity

1. remove the second row of controls as not needed
2. change the form type to continuous
3. put the sql in your form recordsource
4. bind each control to the relevant field (the controlsource property)

Or save your query, then select it and on the create ribbon, select more forms the multiple items
1705876776118.png

I note you are not selecting a field for quantity - all depends on what that field is for as to what happens next

tvanstiphout

Local time
First, quantityinstock should not be a value in a table. This value should be determined via math---all the amounts put into inventory minus all the amounts taken from inventory.

Second, what's the purpose of this form? What datasource is it bound to?